A Chihuahua

19 Sep

It's been about a week since my last update. I apologize for the laziness of my posts, I think I get to the point of "oh yeah, I got this" and quit being as diligent with documenting my food, journaling, and so on. And you would think
I'd know by now that I absolutely DO NOT have this!

Anyway, I completed my 6 week weigh-in on Saturday. The results for the week were 2 lbs down for the week and 26 lbs down overall. Not spectacular, but hey, it’s still a loss, right!? Then comes my trip to Gatlinburg for a family wedding.

Oh my.

Day #1 started off with a breakfast wrap (okay). Followed by a BLT (no mayo) and a couple bites of hash browns (eh). Then 7 (7!!!!!) hours passed before my next meal. This meal was catered in BBQ for the wedding reception. Let me just start by reminding you it had been SEVEN hours since I'd eaten. I was famisheddddd. What ensued from here I'm not proud of. Now, lest you think I went COMPLETELY nuts, it wasn't that bad. I mean, I wasn't found hours later passed out in an empty tray once filled with delicious BBQ. BUT, compared to how I have been doing- it wasn't pretty. Sunday wasn't too much better food-wise, but like any addict I thought, its okay just this once. I'll make it up by eating realllyyyy good next week. Mmmhmmm. Let me tell you how that went.

I immediately jumped on the scale when I got home. Ha! That couldn't possibly be right. So, I decided it must be higher from sitting in a car traveling all day (couldn't possibly be from all the food I ate all weekend!)I'll just sleep it off and weigh in tomorrow morning.

This morning arrives… I shower and make sure my hair is completely dry (wet hair probably weighs more than dry I suppose), position myself just so on the scale (it’s a pretty precise procedure you must follow!) and exhale all the air out of my lungs(in my head, air must add a couple of ounces at least!), close my eyes, say a prayer and look down.

Damn.

Surely you’d think 8 hours would have changed something. Nope. 4 lbs. FOUR POUNDS. I continued my weighing ritual at least 5 more times, something just had to be wrong. 

Nope.

Four pounds it is. The approximate weight of a chihuahua. In two days I had undone about 2 weeks worth of work. I guess the good part of all this is that I've realized that I DO have to be diligent, I can't just assume I've done so well I can slack off a little. Again, this blog is about honesty so as I share my successes, I must also share my failures.

At least tomorrow is a new day.

 

4 Responses to “A Chihuahua”

  1. goingsteadyblog September 20, 2011 at 8:39 am #

    Thanks for sharing. Don’t beat yourself up too much–I don’t know anyone who can resist the lure of good BBQ. You’re right that tomorrow is another day. One day off doesn’t necessarily mean doom forever.

  2. Amy Shaver September 22, 2011 at 11:24 am #

    It is a new day. Don’t beat yourself up at all. It happens. We all do it. What matters is what you do now. Don’t give up… just keep pushing forward!

    Elvis’s birthday is this weekend. I know there will be sugar in my future… but I refuse to just give up. 🙂

  3. Amy Shaver October 5, 2011 at 4:28 pm #

    *waves* Where are you girl??

    • Katie October 8, 2011 at 3:09 pm #

      I know, right? I’ve *got* to start doing better at blogging again. It’s such a good release ya know.

Leave a Reply

