5 Week Update: With Pictures

11 Sep

It was 5 weeks ago yesterday that  I made the decision to change my lifestyle completely. My first steps: I cut sugar from diet altogether, I quit eating flour daily (now I’ll only allow myself a small portion of flour a couple of times a week), I cut salt wayyyy down (haven’t been able to get rid of that completely), and I quit drinking sweet tea and sodas- I’m now drinking only water and milk for the most part. In 5 weeks I’ve dropped 24 lbs and the way I feel has improved drastically. I know I still have a long way to go, but I decided to take a few pics to show myself, and you guys, the progress I’ve made so far.

I know pictures aren’t the best, they were only taken for my eyes, but I’ve decided to share them. (If you click on the picture, it should enlarge it for you) I can’t believe the difference 5 weeks has made, I’m excited about continuing and sharing my updates along the way.I’m so lucky to have such a great support team around me, I feel like I owe it to everyone who has shared nice words and encouragement along the way, to see these pictures.

12 Responses to “5 Week Update: With Pictures”

  1. andy1076 September 11, 2011 at 9:50 pm #

    Cutting out flour was the best option as well as cutting back salt, it’s a horrible thing that salt! but wow that’s a lot of improvements 🙂 keep it up!! kudos!! 🙂

    • Katie September 11, 2011 at 10:42 pm #

      Thanks Andy! Yeah, I can tell a difference in the way I feel when I eat flour, I’m thinking about cutting it altogether. Salt’s gonna take a little while! Lol

      • andy1076 September 11, 2011 at 11:12 pm #

        There’s lots of alternatives for flavoring in place of salt though, fresh made olive oil dressing with lemon and cilantro etc 🙂 have a little flour for the carb since it produces energy but in moderation, it works 🙂

  2. goingsteadyblog September 12, 2011 at 7:13 am #

    That’s great! Congrats on your progress!

    • Katie September 12, 2011 at 8:57 pm #

      Thank you!

  3. Amy September 12, 2011 at 11:19 am #

    I’ve replaced flour all together. If I need to use something, I use flaxmeal, parmesan cheese, and spices. I keep some salt in my diet because otherwise, I get HORRIBLE muscle cramps. It’s something that atkins followers have taught me. 🙂

    I’m trying to lose more, I wish you lived closer. We could totally do this together!! 🙂

  4. sara williams September 13, 2011 at 11:00 am #

    You rock!! Congrats on the great “before and after” pics. Have you had the experience of “Oh, crap, that was my favorite “thing to wear” and now it is too big.” moment then realize, “Oh, CRAP!! Its too big!!”? Those are the best days. I once read where someone said that when they think they are going to eat something bad, they ask themselves, “will that taste as good as thin feels?”. …that is my mantra now.

    Keep up the awesome work!! I’ve really enjoyed following your journey, you have a great blog. 🙂
    Sara

    • Katie September 14, 2011 at 5:26 pm #

      Thank you so much Sara! 🙂 unfortunately my clothes are still fitting- loosely- but fitting haha! How are things your way?

  5. KayleeAnn October 3, 2011 at 11:13 pm #

    Your before progress pictures are awesome! I hope your new diet is doing wonderful things for the way you feel in addition to the way you look!
    :: KayleeAnn ::

    • Katie October 8, 2011 at 3:09 pm #

      Thanks girl!! I definitely feel like a new person! still a long way to go, but I’m happy with the progress so far 🙂

  6. sondrajo October 9, 2011 at 1:16 am #

    Awesome job! I know that sometimes its hard to tell the difference looking at piks, but you have OBVIOUSLY been working hard! Congrats! Excited to follow your journey! 🙂

    • Katie October 9, 2011 at 9:26 pm #

      Thank you so much! I really appreciate the support!

Leave a Reply

