My Step 4 Inventory…

27 Aug

Well, it seems as if it’s time to begin cleaning up the messes of the past so I can start my life over, afresh. I no longer feel (or want) the need to protect myself with uncomfortable feelings by eating compulsively. This is going to be the hardest part of the change I’m afraid. To admit my problems, and to face the lies surrounding food I’ve led myself, and others, to believe.

Step four requires that I make a “searching and fearless moral inventory of myself”. I have to list the people, institutions and principles toward which I feel resentment, fear or other troublesome feelings. I have to research and analyze my feelings and I’m going to lie- I’m already ashamed and humiliated. I think this will by far be the hardest time- but also the most eye-opening one. I plan to make this inventory this afternoon, and maybe even share some of it in a post later tonight.

Wish me luck…

4 Responses to “My Step 4 Inventory…”

  1. lillyoa August 27, 2011 at 2:59 pm #

    I remember how hard that first moral inventory was. What you don’t know yet is how great you will feel as you release those “secrets”. I’m excited for you, because you will soon be finding out how amazing it is to be with other people who accept you exactly as you are, “warts and all”.

    Good for you!!!!

    lilly~

    • Katie August 28, 2011 at 12:28 pm #

      Thank you so much Lilly 🙂

  2. Micah August 29, 2011 at 12:23 am #

    Katie, for you this inventory is about food abd feelings, but we all have some kind of moral inventory to do about that nagging thing or things in our lives that if we faced would make us feel shame and humiliation no matter who we are. Your courage to face your fears of what lies beneath gives me the courage and inspiration to face my own. Thank you for being such an amazing person.

    • Katie August 29, 2011 at 7:44 pm #

      This is the best compliment I could have gotten. Thank you so much ❤

Leave a Reply

