I Hate Mornings

23 Aug

I am not, reapeat:  NOT a morning person at all! I would so much rather stay up late and sleep in, but alas, I have a job (and they prefer me not to do that)! Given grumpiness and general lack of caring in the mornings, it’s hard to eat a good breakfast before work at 8:30am. I’m certainly not getting up any earlier to cook myself egg whites. I would demand a yolk for going through all that trouble! This is where my new love comes in: Smoothies! Love, love, love that I just throw a few ingredients into a blender and I have a delicious (and filling) breakfast within minutes! I start with about 6 ice cubes, a splash of rice milk, 2 tsp. of Truvia (or sugar sub. of your choice) fruit of your choice and 4tsp of powered egg whites for protein (usually these are found in the baking aisle of your local grocery store). I’ve done strawberry, strawberry-banana and my favorite- peach. This morning I decide to be a little more exotic I threw in 1/2 a mango and a spear of pineapple. I’ve found my new favorite!  It’s so tasty, I can’t believe it’s actually healthy for me! My sister asked if it actually fills me up like a “normal” breakfast would: well, it does! I’ll drink my smoothie on the way to work about 8:15am and I’m not ready for my mid-morning snack until at least between 10:30 and 11:00am. I hope this helps others with a fast, nutritious and extremely yummy breakfast 🙂

4 Responses to “I Hate Mornings”

  1. Aaron Scott August 23, 2011 at 6:45 pm #

    Great post Katie. Your blog looks really good.

    • Katie August 23, 2011 at 9:19 pm #

      Thank you so much 🙂

  2. sara williams August 24, 2011 at 11:15 am #

    Hmmm, I’ve been thinking about doing the smoothie thing but haven’t gotten motivated. Your “receipe” sounds good. yep, I think I’ll do it! And I know you have cut out a lot of certain foods and not sure if they would fit, but I’ve discovered Luna bars. They are full of vitamins and nutrious stuff and some are organic. They have a high protein count and are low in fat and calories so I eat them sometimes for breakfast if I’m in a major hurry…..I’ve also been know to have one of the sweeter ones as a dessert on occassion.

    Thanks for the smoothie ideas!

    • Katie August 24, 2011 at 11:50 am #

      Luuuhhhh-oove the smoothies- so quick and easy! I’ll have to check out the Luna bars too- as long as it isn’t too processed or contain too much sugar I can have them. Thanks for the tip Sara 🙂

Leave a Reply

