Can a get a #1, extra mayo, no lettuce?

22 Aug

This would be my typical meal. A numberwhatever from a fast food joint. Filled with sodium, fat and lots of calories (it makes me a little nauseous to imagine eating that now).  Now I know at the moment I don’t look as if I’ve changed my ways much, BUT the way I FEEL speaks volumes.

It’s been just over 2 weeks since I’ve cut soft drinks, sweet tea, boxed/canned foods (for the most part), sugar, flour and most simple or empty carbs (bread, cakes, pastries, cookies, etc) from my diet. Within these two weeks I’ve lost about 15lbs. and already starting to feel better. I drink only water, unsweetened tea and sometimes a small glass of skim milk. Water sometimes just doesn’t cut it at 6:30am! I’ve noticed with just this change, my skin looks better. More glowy, not as splotchy, and not as dry. A nice added bonus to the weight loss. I also have more energy. I work a full time job and usually after work I would crash on the couch for the evening flipping through the channels and moving as little as possible. Now I just feel like doing more- I’m not gonna lie- I’m not running a marathon after the work day, but I’m coming home, cooking dinner, cleaning up the dinner dishes, doing laundry, tidying up. Sure, I’ll still wind down and flip on the TV, but I’m not stuck there for the evening. Eating healthy sure isn’t convenient, or cheap, but so far, the benefits are outweighing the negatives.

4 Responses to “Can a get a #1, extra mayo, no lettuce?”

  1. Sara Green Williams August 23, 2011 at 12:01 pm #

    Congrats on making the big change!! My husband and I started our “lifestyle” change about 2.5 months ago. No “fad” dieting, just counting every calorie we eat and not going over. So far, I’ve lost 26 pounds and my husband has lost 40. If you put in the work, it really doesn’t take long, that was the thing that surprised me the most. As I am looking at weighing (for the first time in my life I think) what is considered a “healthy weight” for me, I could just kick myself for not doing this way earlier.

    I just wanted to comment because it makes me so happy to see others make the decision to take control of their lives. There were tough times along the way, and I’m still working everyday to get to my healthy goal. Hang in there and don’t give up! It sounds like you’ve got a great support system so that is awesome. Congratulations again!!…can’t wait to see and hear more as you continue your life-changing journey!
    ~Sara Green Williams

    • Katie August 23, 2011 at 12:56 pm #

      Thank you so much Sara, I really appreciate your encouraging words, and congrats on the weight loss!! I agree- it is a lot of work, but I already feel so much better- I’m sure you appreacite the extra energy with the little one to chase around! haha! Thanks again Sara 🙂

  2. Aaron Scott August 23, 2011 at 6:48 pm #

    Great post. I’m so proud of you and very impressed about all of the great choices you are making.

    • Katie August 23, 2011 at 9:19 pm #

      Thanks Aaron 🙂 that means a lot- I really appreciate it! Love you!

Leave a Reply

